Evaluation – Question 5

5. How did you attract/address your audience?

Our core target audience

At the peak of our production and editing, I asked for feedback and thoughts about our media video, from many different people and especially my media teacher. I gathered small pieces of feedback and the most effective from our media teacher.

Everyone understood the serious style of our media video and could tell that it was made completely for the thriller genre, when we handed them the questionnaire they could entirely tell and complete each question with full confidence.

We gathered enough feedback to be able to change some pieces in the video to make it much better, for example there was one shot I was not happy with, and through feedback I was able to find out if others felt the same. The outcome was not surprising as I have felt the same as everyone, so we went out and re-filmed the shots to create a much more smooth and enticing piece of media film.

By looking at the type of film and genre we were able to identify which age group will be most satisfied watching our media film. I showed and asked my parents and friends and see if they enjoyed the movie. My whole family and friends gave me their thoughts,  I have analysed their thoughts and have come to a conclusion of the age range being above 15, due to the fact that as well as my friends liking the media video, my much older (60’s) grandma also enjoyed the video. So I have decided that our target age will be the ages of 15 and above.

By having Vertigo Films as our distributor the audience will be able to recognise some of their similar film genre films like ‘Monsters’ and fans from other movies like ‘The Dark Knight’ and ‘The Unusual Suspects’ will also enjoy our media video as they are similar in some senses to our media film. This addresses the same audience from the massive hit movies, thus bringing in huge amounts of people who enjoy similar movies to mine.

In our questionnaire of 25 people, I provided people’s thoughts about the editing of our media video, I gather a great response from this, with the majority of people giving the editing a great 5/5 for a ‘fluent, consistent and imaginative way of piecing the film together’ as I was told by a person.  The results told me that the colours and grading were great and the action pieces were put together in a structured type.

Ratings for Editing

For the sound of the media video I also questioned the people about their thoughts and told them to rate it out of 5. I gathered a good response and was told that the chosen sound/music was a great choice. I was also told that the sound effects were great apart from one punch scene. Overall it was also a good response to the video’s sound as I gathered many pieces of sound effects and sounds as well as distorted them to create a better effect for the viewer.

Ratings for the Sound

As a final piece of evaluation of my media piece I asked them to rate my final piece of video. I gathered a very great response from this due to the fact that everyone understood it was a thriller and felt the serious note of the movie. As for the feedback I was able to gather thoughts about the film, where people showed their love towards the film by rating it a majority of 5/5 as a very low budget independent British film.

Ratings for the Video (Recollection)

I also uploaded my media video onto sites like YouTube and WordPress. I gathered several comments for these videos as stated below.

Comments for my uploaded media video (Recollection)

“This is a really good opening sequence!!!!!!! I think it’s amazing and really grabs my attention. I really want to watch more and find out what happens next  I’m guessing the media product is a ‘Mystery Thriller’ as it builds up anticipation during the 2 mins. I love the music and the dialogue within in scenes. If I had to improve something I think maybe making some of the scenes lighter and I found it hard to see the screen at times. Overall I really enjoyed the opening sequence and think you did a really good job.”

I have also gathered everyone’s thoughts and put them into a pie chart.

Pie Chart for Feedback

YouTube comments and likes:

pokePOKE519 : This is a really good thriller!

SHAnny-! : Wow… is there more?

Bazingstokeguurl:3 : All the characters are played really well!

Questionnaire (25 sampled):

Question Answer 1 (please tick where
appropriate)
Answer 2 (please tick where
appropriate)
Answer 3 (please tick where
appropriate)
Additional comments (e.g. how can we
improve?)
What age group are you? 15-30 31-62 Older than 62  
You are Female Male I wouldn’t like to say  
Rate the editing out of 5        
Rate the video out of 5        
Rate the sound out of 5        
Anything you would like to add?
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment